Georgia Traffic Fines
The Georgia Department of Public Safety (DPS) is responsible for overseeing and promoting the safety for both residents and visitors throughout the state of Georgia.
With a primary focus on traffic laws and analysis of motor vehicle accidents in Georgia, the DPS plays an enormous role in highlighting the potential dangers of traveling on Georgia roadways as well as in the reduction in the number of auto accidents and associated injuries.
One of the most direct methods of reducing auto accidents caused by driver errors is to implement Georgia traffic fines based on driving infractions and violations. Many drivers become lazy in their driving habits once they have been driving for a while, which can have a direct impact on their ability to respond to an unexpected driving situation.
Georgia Traffic Fines
Georgia motorists who are pulled over by a law enforcement officer for a driving violation are often given a number of options regarding how to handle their ticket. Drivers can opt to pay the fine, fight the charges, attend traffic school, or a combination of two. When paying a traffic fine in GA, drivers are pleading guilty to the violation which was ticketed and must mail the fine to their local court. However, motorists must understand that these charges will vary depending upon the specific violation and court.
Drivers who are consistently pulled over will eventually be subject to additional punishment beyond simple charges. For instance, some licenses are suspended or revoked to serve as a penalty for those who continually break the law. In addition, driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol is a serious offense I the state of Georgia. When a driver is pulled over and shows a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 or higher, they will be expected to pay the following:
- $300-$1,000 for the first offense
- $600-$1,000 for the second offense
- $1,000-$5,000 for the third offense
While these fines are common, Savannah drivers are also susceptible to license suspension or license revocation after the second DUI offense. Exercising safe driving habits while on the roads and highways in Georgia is absolutely essential to ensuring the safety of all motorists and passengers.
How to Pay a Fine in Georgia
Opting to pay for a traffic ticket in the state of Georgia implies that the driver has admitted guilt to the violation. As such, the violator will be expected to pay the fine as listed on the ticket. More often than not, the back of the citation will list the fine, deadline, and any additional options that may be available. Remember, those who choose to fight the ticket are pleading not guilty. Drivers are usually given 15 days to respond to the ticket.
Ticketed drivers may pay for the fine online in many counties throughout Georgia. If this is the case, the local county should offer instructions regarding the proper methods of payment. In addition, ticketed motorists may opt to pay for the ticket in person. In this case, you must go to the local court in the area where the ticket was issued. Accepted payments include money orders, checks, or credit card.
If you or a family member has suffered during a motor vehicle collision in GA, our Savannah traffic lawyers are prepared to take on your case today and fight for the compensation that you deserve.