Reckless Driving in Savannah
Reckless driving in Savannah can account for a number of traffic violations that compromise “the safety of persons or property”. Georgia Code takes the law very seriously in terms of monitoring the roadways and highways for those violating any portion of the reckless driving regulation. Law enforcement, however, notes a variance between a reckless driver and a negligent driver. Violation of a traffic law may be deemed negligent. In contrast, once a driver puts another in serious danger, a negligent driver becomes a reckless driver.
Penalty for Reckless Driving
Georgia law protects the rights of drivers through strict penalties for violation. Georgia Code further states that those who are convicted of reckless driving “shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $1,000.00 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment, provided that no provision of this Code section shall be construed so as to deprive the court imposing the sentence of the power given by law to stay or suspend the execution of such sentence or to place the defendant on probation”.
Examples of Reckless Driving
Reckless driving occurs when one driver puts another in serious danger or causes some form of bodily harm to another person. A few reckless driving examples include:
- Merging in and out of traffic
- Extreme speeding
- Driving under the influence
- Racing on the roadways and highways
- Disregard of traffic signs, stop lights, etc.
- Tailgating too closely
- Speeding through red lights and/or stop signs
- Excess danger in violation of traffic laws
Georgia’s Super Speeder Law
Effective as of January 1, 2010, Georgia has introduced the “Super Speeder Law”. A Super Speeder is defined as a driver who is convicted of speeding at 75 mph or greater on a two-lane roadway, as well as a driver who is convicted of speeding at 85 mph or above on any highway or road in Georgia. Super Speeders are subject to not only pay the fines and fees where the offense occurred, but must also pay a $200 Super Speeder state fee. Georgia’s DDS is responsible for monitoring and collecting Super Speeder payments. Neglecting to pay the fine within 120 days of the notice date will result in the suspension of all driving privileges in Georgia, including suspension of license or permit.