According to the governor’s office, the law went into effect immediately but drivers will have a 180-day grace period where only warnings will be issued.
South Carolina drivers will be allowed to text when legally parked or stopped, are using a hands-free device, using a GPS system or requesting emergency help.
The penalty for violating the law is currently a $25 fine. South Carolina is now the 49th state to adopt a texting and driving ban; Montana is now the only state without any texting and driving law in their books.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident caused by a driver who was distracted or texting at the time of the incident, you may be entitled to compensation.
Contact our car accident lawyers at (866) 947-7449 to schedule a free legal consultation today.